about johnson city gis

OUR MISSION

The Geographic Information Systems division’s primary function is to provide mapping and spatial analyses to city departments and offer self-serve applications and data to the public to empower them to make data-driven decisions.

GIS activities focus principally on:

  • Creating, managing, updating, and enhancing database layers of geographically located features and corresponding feature information;
  • Creating maps and statistical data from the database layers;
  • Using spatial models to perform analyses on real world problems;
  • Supporting city staff in their efforts to use GIS application programs;
  • Assisting city staff with GIS and mapping needs for special projects; and
  • Providing the public with self-serve web maps and open data

OUR TEAM
Department Name First Name Last Name Job Title Email Phone
Information Technology Link Elmore Geospatial Manager lelmore@johnsoncitytn.org (423) 434-5783
Information Technology Ann Howland Geospatial Analyst howlanda@johnsoncitytn.org (423) 434-6188
Information Technology Ellen Lester Geospatial Programmer elester@johnsoncitytn.org (423) 434-6186
Water & Sewer Services Jake Tittle Geospatial Analyst jtittle@johnsoncitytn.org (423) 975-2625
Water & Sewer Services Ken Smith Geospatial Specialist ksmith@johnsoncitytn.org (423) 975-2621
Public Works Jeff Kirchberg Geospatial Specialist jkirchberg@johnsoncitytn.org (423) 232-0833