Public Works

The Public Works department provides services intended to maintain the health, safety, and welfare of the community and enhance the quality of life through code enforcement, right-of-way maintenance, and transportation improvements.

The department consists of five major divisions: Engineering, Solid Waste, Stormwater, Streets, and Traffic.

The Public Works Department strives to:

  • Protect the health of the community through the proper collection and disposal of garbage, debris, and yard waste
  • Enhance the safety of the community through proper maintenance of roadways, traffic control devices, and pedestrian ways
  • Protect the welfare of the community through the development of a public infrastructure capable of accommodating and encouraging future growth and stabilizing existing commercial and residential areas
  • Maintain and upgrade the aesthetic quality of the community through urban forestry initiatives and landscaping public places
  • Provide environmental stewardship through stormwater and ground water protection initiatives