Community Development

Community Development

Community Development

901 Pardee Street
Johnson City, TN 37601

Home  Residents  Community Development

Community Development coordinates federal, state, and local resources to implement housing rehabilitation, home ownership, homeless shelters, and other housing development activities. The division also funds fair housing activities, park expansion and development in low- and moderate-income neighborhoods, and economic development activities as well as provides assistance with community facility improvements for the handicapped and community support services for at-risk populations.

The Community Development Program is guided by a five-year strategy based upon an assessment of the community's needs and a series of one-year plans developed by the Community Development staff with the assistance and input from a 14-member Housing and Community Development Advisory Board. The annual plans outline the programs that will be provided to help meet the needs identified and the financial resources that will be committed to implement the programs. In addition to the annual plan, the local program must submit an annual performance report to the community and to the department of Housing and Urban Development outlining the accomplishments of the program each fiscal year.

Johnson City Neighborhood Partnerships Program

The Johnson City Neighborhood Partnerships Program, which has been supported by a U.S. Justice Department grant for the past four years, is transitioning to a local program due to federal funding for all programs across the country ending on March 31, 2012. This innovative neighborhood empowerment program works through four program areas: law enforcement; community policing; prevention, intervention, and treatment; and neighborhood restoration. The program currently operates under the direction of the City’s Police Department and the Development Services department’s Community Development division.

The program is coordinated by a community steering committee of 25 members, of which at least a third are residents of participating neighborhoods. Currently the following neighborhoods are included in the program: West Davis Park, Carnegie, Mountain Home, Pine Grove, Southside, and Keystone/King Springs.